BOOKS:

Natural Hospital Birth: The Best of Both Worlds by Cynthia Gabriel 

The Birth Partner:  Everything You Need to Know to Help a Woman Through Childbirth by Penny Simkin

The Complete Book of Pregnancy & Childbirth by Sheila Kitzinger

Pushed: The Painful Truth About Childbirth and Modern Maternity Care by Jennifer Block

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin

The Doula Book by Marshal Klaus, John Kennel and Phyllis Klaus

Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way by Susan McCutcheon-Rosegg and Peter Rosegg         

The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth by Henci Goer

The Ultimate Breastfeeding Book of Answers by Jack Newman and Teresa Pitman

ONLINE INFORMATION: 

Ina May Gaskin: http://inamay.com

Ina May is founder and director of the Farm Midwifery Center, located near Summertown, Tennessee. She encourages mothers to take an active and courageous role in their births. 

Evidence Based Birth: http://evidencebasedbirth.com

EBB provides information about options during childbirth and how to discuss these options with your healthcare provider

Childbirth Connection: http://www.childbirthconnection.com

Informational support to know your childbirth choices and rights

Midwifery Today: http://www.midwiferytoday.com

Magazine for natural living

Midwife Thinking: www.midwifethinking.com 

Blog of an Australian midwife to share knowledge and evidence-based information on childbirth and midwifery

Spinning Babies: http://spinningbabies.com

Helpful information about how to aid in optimal fetal position

DONA International: www.dona.org

The world’s oldest and largest doula certifying organization, and the one I hold my certification through. 

Mama Natural: http://www.mamanatural.com

Helpful information on natural living; she also provides insightful information on pregnancy and birth

Wellness Mama: http://wellnessmama.com

Blog of a doula and natural lifestyle mom. 

Breastfeeding: 

Dr. Jack Newman: www.breastfeedinginc.ca 

Breastfeeding videos and information to help you succeed at breastfeeding your baby

KellyMom: www.kellymom.com 

Website with evidence-based care for breastfeeding, sleep and parenting.

Podcasts on what to expect during the pushing stage of birth:

 http://www.blogtalkradio.com/waterbirthinwoman/2010/05/28/pushing-for-first-time-moms-with-gloria-lemay

Cesarean:

International Cesarean Awareness Network: www.ican-online.org

ICAN is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to improve maternal-child health by preventing unnecessary cesareans through education, providing support for cesarean recovery, and promoting Vaginal Birth After Cesarean (VBAC).

Postpartum: 

Postpartum Support International: www.postpartum.net

Resources and support for women with postpartum depression